Should I Skip High School Physics and Take AP Physics Instead?

In summary: My goal is to major in physics and possibly go into graduate school. I have a feeling that I would do better in graduate school than I would in college, but I'm not sure. I think I should take the AP course regardless of my ability because I feel like I would benefit from the extra challenge.In summary, it is possible to do well in AP physics without taking a regular high school physics course, but it is also possible to benefit from taking the class if you are struggling with more advanced material.
Radarithm
Gold Member
Hey all.

I'm a high school freshman; so I'm not exactly 'wise' when it comes to education. I've been self teaching myself physics over the last couple of months from Sears and Zemansky's University Physics, 12th edition, and although I started out very badly, I now have a very good grasp over the contents that are required for AP Physics; I am thinking of skipping the normal high school physics course and taking AP Physics BC (or I and II because of the curriculum change) in my sophomore year. Is it worth skipping high school physics? Or should I take the class regardless of whether or not I am good enough to take the AP version of the course? I feel like the standard course has nothing of importance to offer me, and I feel very confident about taking the exam this May. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section; this section is for Which college and degree? Grad school and PhD help, but I found no other sub-forum that would suit this thread.

Physics news on Phys.org
It's easy to get in over your head by skipping things - even if you "test out" of them.