Should I Choose Engineering or Physics for My Major?

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is struggling to choose between pursuing a degree in engineering or physics. They express interest in physics due to its focus on solving mysteries of the universe, but are concerned about the job market for physics majors. They ask for advice on whether a physics degree is worth it and if they can go to grad school in physics with an engineering degree. The suggestion is made to look into medical physics as a potential career path.
Kal-El
Hello I am a sophomore at Penn State currently in Aerospace engineering. I am stuck between engineering and physics like so many people out there. I have taken engineering classes and it seems a little boring. At least at my school engineering has been displayed as the conceptual development of the discoveries made by scientist from which engineers computer design/draw new developing technologies and solve mathematical problems with said design or improve said design with mathematical and problem solving skills. I love physics or the idea of what physics tries to solve, mysteries of the universe, black wholes, how it all works. I have a lot of books on physics concepts and find them interesting, even have some conceptual ideas on my own but the problem with a physics degree at least at undergrad level is the job market. engineering has a job market while from what I heard from my adviser/ science teachers, physics has none. A lot of people are telling me a physics degree isn't worth it.
Can you go on to grad school in physics with a engineering degree, if so which engineering degree is the closes to physics? we have a degree at my school called Engineering science, would that be a good choice? Thank everyone for their input.

Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone?