Should I Choose Electrical or Civil Engineering Despite Job Market Trends?

In summary: However, that doesn't mean that there isn't a lot of interesting and exciting work in the field of electrical engineering.
1kk
I'm having a trouble deciding what engineering field should I go. I'm a student in a community college and studying physics right now. I'm fascinated anything that associate with electricity. Although I haven't learned the physics about the electricity yet(but I will learn it next quarter).

Anyway, my professor told me it's not a good idea to major in EE (Electrical Engineering). And he also told me the market for EE student isn't good as CE (Civil Engineering). He also mentioned that the employment growth. The biomedical, environmental, and civil have the biggest growth. And the employment of electrical engineers just grow 2%. Therefore, civil, biomedical, environmental has a very HUGE demand.

Also, I think the stuff that learn in EE change very fast, because technology change fast. Civil seems don't change that fast.

Right now, I would like to go to Electrical engineering, Environmental engineering and Civil engineering. But I like EE the most, follow by Environmental, and Civil. In fact, I don’t really like to build road, airport, and that kind of stuff. This is like a life time decision, what should I do? (Civil for job and money, electrical for interest and dreams) Also, I have to feed my parent after I graduate. Please tell me anything that come up in your mind. I need to make the decision within this month.
BTW, I‘m an international student. If there is any point that you don’t understand, please ask me.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do what your interested in doing. It's a lot better to have a job that you somewhat enjoy vs. working a job you hate for the next 40-60 years of your life...