Should I Choose a Management Minor or Focus on Physics and Math Classes?

• Thread starter pete5383
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary: For Applied Linear Algebra and Applied Fourier Analysis, I'm not sure if they're really needed for my career path, but they're things I really want to learn. Thanks for the advice everyone!In summary, Warren is considering going to grad school to study physics and mathematics, and wants to get some research experience to show that he has experience in both fields. He's also considering getting a management minor. He's been told that EE majors are often put into management positions, but he wants to study more quantum physics and potentially take classes to get a math minor. He's also considering taking classes to help him with his career goals.
pete5383
Hey everyone. I'm getting ready to register for spring classes, and I'd like to get some opinions on some things. First off, I'm a sophomore in Electrical Engineering, and I plan on going to grad school for a masters. I talked to my advisor the other day, and we discussed projects he's working on, and he talked about some that involved quantum effects, and I was really interested in that, and think it's something I might like to get more involved with. He suggested trying to get some research experience with both the EE and Physics departments, to show that I've had experience in both, which I fully plan on doing. I've always wanted to know more about quantum mechanics, because so far I have a pretty superficial knowledge of it.

Earlier on the boards, someone suggested that EE majors are often put into management positions, and that a Management minor is a good idea, if only for helping get farther in my career. So that was one option I was considering. But after talking with my advisor, I'd love to study more quantum physics and possibly take some more advanced math classes.