Shankar Questions About Quantum Mechanics (Schwarz Inequality)

In summary, the conversation discusses topics related to quantum mechanics, specifically the completeness relation for a set of vectors and the use of inner products in expanding vectors. The conversation also mentions Hilbert spaces and the application of axioms in proofs. The main points are that a complete set of orthonormalized basis vectors can be used to express any arbitrary vector as a sum of its components, and the inner product is used to find the components in the direction of each basis vector. This can be extended to unbounded operators and both discrete and continuous spectra. The conversation also mentions the Schwarz inequality and provides a proof using properties of the inner product.
Dr_Pill
Hello there,

Im studying QM with Shankar's book.

I'm wrestling myself trough the linear algebra now and I have some questiosn.

Let me start with this one:

aajHi.jpg

I have absolutely no idea where this is coming from or what does it mean.

I don't know how to multiply a ket with an inner product...

Thx in advance

Physics news on Phys.org

This is the completeness relation for a bunch of vectors, usually a complete orthonormalized set of Hilbert-space basis vectors, [itex]|i\rangle[/itex]. These usually occur as eigenvectors of an self-adjoint operator.

Usually you need a slight extension of this concept, namely the case for unbounded essentially self-adjoint operators which can have a continuous spectrum (like the position "eigenkets", which are no Hilbert-space vectors but belong to a larger space, i.e., the dual space of the domain of the position and momentum operator). In this case your sum goes over into an integral
[tex]|V \rangle=\int_{\mathbb{R}^3} \mathrm{d}^3 \vec{x} \; |\vec{x} \rangle \langle \vec{x}|V \rangle.[/tex]