Sgr. A* - Mathematical calculations

In summary, Alexander is a Danish student who is writing a school project about the black hole Sgr. A* in the center of our galaxy. He has already been given information on the SMBH's mass and other properties, and his main task is to try to recreate the calculations of the mass of the black hole, that have been calculated by another researcher. He has also been given other tasks, which are more mathematically related to the definition of ellipses, their conic definition, their parametrical definition, and other properties. He plans to ask his teacher about the Newtonian approximation or look it up. For more in-depth information, I would suggest 'Compact Objects in Astrophysics' by Max Cam
AlexNis
Hey guys

First real thread besides my introductory thread.

I'm a Danish student in what is somewhat equivalent to my junior/senior year in the american school system. That was a small attempt at school system conversion.

I'm writing a project about the black hole Sgr. A* in the centre of our galaxy. I'll try to explain my situation the best I can:

The project: As mentioned I'm writing a school project. The grade is pretty influential on my average grade, so I'm interested in writing a good project. I'm already past half of my writing time.
Based on coordinates given in a separate document, I've plotted the ellipse of star S2's movement around Sgr. A* which is assumed to be a black hole at the centre of the Milky Way. I've corrected for the tilt, so that I could calculate the true semi-major axis and I am currently doing a few other procedures in order to get the period, so I may apply Kepler's 3rd law in order to calculate the mass of the black hole.