Seeking a nerd well-versed in Cosmology and Dungeons & Dragons

• Thread starter DracoMorpheus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Cosmology
In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of creating a standard model for fantasy role-playing, incorporating elements such as magic, divine beings, psionics, and other mystical abilities into the laws of physics. The idea of quintessence from cosmology is mentioned as a potential explanation for these elements. However, it is noted that attempting to create a rigorous and consistent model similar to modern science would be extremely complex and may not be necessary for the enjoyment of the game.
DracoMorpheus
Summary:: A Standard Model for Fantasy Role-Playing?

Greetings fellow nerds. I am an amateur when it comes to cosmology. I know little in terms of cosmology beyond what I've seen on documentaries, of which I have watched dozens, if not hundreds. I've read Hyperspace by Michio Kaku and Black Holes and Baby Universes, A Brief History of Time, The Universe in a Nutshell and Theory of Everything by S.W. Hawking. However, I have no formal training in physics or cosmology beyond the high school level, and I only passed physics with a C. Hence why I am seeking help from someone smarter than myself.

You see, I am a Dungeon Master for 3.5 D&D and have been DMing for over 20 years now. The trouble is, my campaigns have gotten stale and over the years I've lost touch with the people who helped me build them and played in them. So I've decided to start fresh with a brand new Universe for a brand new campaign setting. I would like very much to design the laws of physics for this universe which produce a universe which is similar in size, scale and structure to our own, only the standard model for this universe would need to include exotic particles to allow for magic, divine beings, psionics, the force or other such mystical abilities and phenomena.