Scientific Computing Application Area?

In summary, the speaker is a returning 3rd year undergraduate math student who plans to take computer science courses in addition to their remaining math courses. They are interested in pursuing a career in a research lab and are seeking recommendations for courses that would be beneficial, particularly in the field of bioinformatics. Some potential courses include Intro to Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, Math Methods in Physics, Thermal Physics, Physical Chemistry, and Electromagnetic Fields. The speaker also mentions needing to have a basic understanding of biology for bioinformatics.
\Theta
Hi everyone!
I have a question for you all. I'm a 3rd year undergraduate math student who took 4 years away from school and I'm going to be returning this Fall(^.^). Prior to leaving school, I'd take courses in C++, Numerical Methods, Two additional semesters of Numerical Analysis, Modern Algebra, Vector Calculus, Advanced Calculus, Linear Algebra, and the first two courses in both Chemistry and Calculus based Physics. Since I've been out, when I go back I'm going to take it slow and pad my existing knowledge of math with some other subjects(mainly computer science).

I understand that I need to learn a little science in order to be useful in a research lab, so does anyone have any suggestions about what classes I should take in that pursuit? It's been 6 years since Chemistry and 5 years since Physics, but I really enjoyed both. How hard would it be to get back in the saddle with those and take upper level courses in those disciplines? A lot of the computer science professors at my school work in bioinformatics, I know some folks in the chemistry department(quantum/computational chemistry), and I have the opportunity to take courses in most any field. Does anyone have any recommendations for what would be a good route? Thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org