Schooling Guidance Bachelors, Masters, PhD?

In summary, my cousin got a 2-year associates degree from a community college and started working for GE as a programmer on the backscatter OTH radar program here in Maine.
C268
I am currently a Sophomore at Northern Arizona University in the Mechanical Engineering Department and I am struggling to decide whether or not I want to go to Grad school or not.

I recently talked to one of my father's friends who retired from Motorola, he was Vice President of one of the sectors over there. He graduated from ASU with a Bachelors in Electrical/Computer Engineering degree (back then the two degrees were together). I asked about getting at least a Masters in Mechanical Engineering and he told me he wouldn't recommend it as the two years spent in school could be spent with obtaining actual job experience. I thought about possibly getting a Master's in Business and he said that wouldn't be a bad idea as most companies would pay for it. He explained that he wouldn't get a Master's in the same field though (Mechanical Engineering).

I am fairly open to different jobs, I am a little partial to the Automobile industry or Aerospace though. Money isn't a huge issue, as I am sure I will live comfortably with any Mechanical Engineering degree, but how big is the difference in pay between a Bachelor's, Masters, and a PhD? From what I understand it isn't necessarily the degree you have, but the experience you have. Also, I understand a PhD is typically for those who want to teach, or want to do R&D. I like the idea of R&D, but teaching...not so much, not of any interest to me.

What are your guys' thoughts and opinions?

Physics news on Phys.org