's Search for Reviews on Two Books

In summary, two recommended books for studying Cryptography and System Engineering are "Dissapearing Cryptography S2- Information Hiding:Steganography and Watermarking" by Peter Wayner and "Linear Time Invariant Systems" by Martin Schetzen. However, some individuals have questioned the relevancy of steganography in modern cryptography. Other suggestions include "Applied Cryptography" by Bruce Schneier and "Cryptography for Dummies" for beginners. Additionally, "Mcdonald Among Us" is a free downloadable book on the topic.
TuThanh
I was advised to buy "Dissapearing Cryptography S2- Information Hiding:Steganography and Watermarking" by Peter Wayner and "Linear Time Invariant Systems" by Martin Schetzen. I am clueless as to whether they are good for me or not, I am studying about Cryptography and System Engineering...Anyone here has any reviews or advice for me about these two books ? Please post help me. Thanks a lot

Tu Thanh

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't see how steganography is relevant to modern cryptography. You see from the title what it's about; disappearing inks and other techniques for hiding messages from sight. The old greek who shaved his slave's head and wrote a message on the guy's scalp, then let the hair grow back and sent the man to his friend, who knew to shave the head to read the message. Not exactly real-time, but it gives the idea. Not an algorithm in the bunch.

TuThanh said:
I am studying about Cryptography and System Engineering...Anyone here has any reviews or advice for me about these two books ? Please post help me. Thanks a lot
Tu Thanh
I haven't heard of the book you mentioned but something I can recommend is Applied Cryptography by Bruce Schneier; a cryptologist who clearly has a passion for the topic.

If you're a total beginner then Cryptography for Dummies.

Search amazon or google as well.

Last edited:
TuThanh said: