Resistance to acceleration dependent upon mass or weight?

In summary, when an object loses weight, its resistance to acceleration diminishes. When an object doubles its weight, its resistance to acceleration increases.
inertiaforce
I am not a physics professional. I have just found an interest in physics on my own. My question is as follows:

Imagine a 50 pound weight here on earth. It's mass has a weight of 50 pounds in 1g gravity. This mass, weighing 50 pounds, has a certain amount of resistance to acceleration (inertia).

Now let's take this mass, which weighs 50 pounds, into an elevator, and have the elevator go into free fall. The mass would then be weightless and no longer have a weight of 50 pounds. Instead, it would have a weight of 0 pounds. Now that the mass weighs 0 pounds (weightless), does it become easier to accelerate?

Also, let's take this same mass and now put it into an upward accelerating elevator with an acceleration of 2g. This mass now weighs 100 pounds in this 2g gravity. Now that the mass weighs 100 pounds, does it become harder to accelerate?

Physics news on Phys.org
Mass is invariant - always the same.

'Weight' is a variable attribute resulting from gravitational force and/or acceleration.

Mass is related *directly* to the amount of force required to accelerate it. The 'weightless' object in a free fall elevator will still retain its mass. If it has the same mass as you, and you push it as both of you are in free fall, you will accelerate backward at the same rate it accelerates away from you.

Weight is *relative* to the gravitational or accelerating force acting upon it. So weight is less on the Moon than on the Earth, and also in an elevator accelerating at a slower rate than a faster one.

I guess your confusion is because of the unit you're using.Pound seems to be a unit of both mass and force!