Research while playing catch up

• Thread starter Gitmo234
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Research
In summary, a PhD student with a broad program including geoscience became interested in exploring magnetic anomalies related to Earth's magnetic fields. However, their research has led them deeper into physics due to unexpectedly successful results. They are now seeking advice on how to catch up on this new subject while in their education program.
Gitmo234
Hey folks,

I'm a PhD student that stumbled into some stuff that's a bit over my head. My program is broad covering and geoscience is under the umbrella of the program. I had been a part of some scientific work in the past regarding magnetic anomalies and it sparked my interest. I wanted to explore that as part of my program as it ties to Earth's magnetic fields.

I'm finding, however, that I'm pushing deeper into physics, mostly because my testing has been strangely successful and for now some of the results are making everyone scratch their head in the field of magnetic anomaly detection. I originally just wanted to document some basic phenomena but the results are interesting enough that I have to keep digging deeper to figure out the "why" and "how" .

I'm going through the resources in the thread posted above and I've also been reading/watching various tutorials online. Does anyone else have experience or pointers in playing catch up while in education program?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF.

What does your Academic Advisor recommend? How about your Research Advisor? :smile:

Related to Research while playing catch up

1. What is "research while playing catch up"?

"Research while playing catch up" refers to the process of conducting research while trying to catch up on previous work or tasks. This can happen when a researcher falls behind in their work due to various reasons, such as unexpected setbacks or a heavy workload.

2. How does playing catch up affect research?