Research topic for an undergraduate regarding integrated optics

In summary: Rather than a topic, do you have any books(regarding this field or introducing related Mathematics) or materials that you recommended?
NexusN
Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate in Elec. Engineering, and will be doing my final year project(doing a research on a topic for a year).
My interest is on optoelectronic, I want to study the future of integrated optics and the possibility of replacing ordinary circuit by optical circuit(eventually reaching all optical computing).
However, I am still a novice and know not much about the recent topics.
I only have very basic knowledge of the area, knowing a bit the fundamental of light transmission via optical fiber.

To learn more, I would like to set my Final year Project topic a research in this field, do you have any idea for that?
As I have only a year of time(sure I will continue my research after the FYP if possible), I worry I cannot go too far in the given time.
Would you mind suggesting something for the topic in view of the above?

Thank you in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
NexusN said:
Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate in Elec. Engineering, and will be doing my final year project(doing a research on a topic for a year).
My interest is on optoelectronic, I want to study the future of integrated optics and the possibility of replacing ordinary circuit by optical circuit(eventually reaching all optical computing).
However, I am still a novice and know not much about the recent topics.
I only have very basic knowledge of the area, knowing a bit the fundamental of light transmission via optical fiber.

To learn more, I would like to set my Final year Project topic a research in this field, do you have any idea for that?
As I have only a year of time(sure I will continue my research after the FYP if possible), I worry I cannot go too far in the given time.
Would you mind suggesting something for the topic in view of the above?