Research Scientist or Physicist

In summary, the individual has a background in BME and a PhD in MRI. They are currently working as a Research Scientist at a hospital but are facing challenges in conducting their desired research due to political and physical constraints. As a result, they are considering applying for a medical physicist position for routine clinical duties and job security. However, it is noted that medical physicists are also expected to do research and have faculty positions, and if they are considering radiation oncology, they may need to undergo retraining. The individual is seeking feedback on the pros and cons of this potential career change.
dingdong12
I want to have some career advice from you all, let me first start with my background...

I graduated from a BME program, and finished a PhD in MRI last year. I am currently a Research Scientist at a hospital. After working for almost a year, I found myself lacking ideas in doing research. To be more precised, I couldn't do what I wanted to do due to some political issues and/or physical constraints. And I found myself are becoming less and less competitive if I wish to go for faculty post (since for every paper I wrote, I am not the first author).

Recently, I am considering applying medical physicist position elsewhere. The reason behind is that there're routine clinical duties and higher job security.

Any comments?

Physics news on Phys.org
The MRI medical physicists I know are expected to do research and have faculty positions. If you're talking about radiation oncology medical physics, you'll likely have to do some retraining to get into the field.

Yes, I am considering going into some resident training program for radiation oncology physicist.
Any pros and cons for my decisions?

Related to Research Scientist or Physicist

1. What is the difference between a research scientist and a physicist?