Renormalisation scale and running of the φ^3 coupling constant

In summary, the conversation discusses renormalizing QFT using the cut-off scheme with counterterms and looking at the ##\varphi^4## and ##\varphi^3## models to one-loop order in 4D. It explains how a counterterm can be used to renormalize the one-loop four-point 1PI diagram at a certain energy scale and how an on-shell point can be chosen to define a physical coupling. It also discusses the beta function for the ##\varphi^4## model and the dimensional consistency of the expression. The conversation then moves on to the ##\varphi^3## model and raises questions about renormalizing the three-point function and choosing a renormalization point.
tomdodd4598
TL;DR Summary
A question about the renormalisation and running of dimensionful coupling constants.
I am still rather new to renormalising QFT, still using the cut-off scheme with counterterms, and have only looked at the ##\varphi^4## model to one loop order (in 4D). In that case, I can renormalise with a counterterm to the one-loop four-point 1PI diagram at a certain energy scale. I can choose an on-shell point ##\{s={ \sigma }{ \mu }^{ 2 },\quad t={ \tau }{ \mu }^{ 2 },\quad u={ \upsilon }{ \mu }^{ 2 }\}## (where ##s,t,u## are the Mandelstam variables) at which to define a physical coupling ##\lambda\equiv\lambda(\mu)##, yielding a four-point amplitude of $$\tilde { \Gamma } \left( { p }_{ 1 },...,{ p }_{ 4 } \right) \approx \lambda +a{ \lambda }^{ 2 }\ln { \left[ \frac { stu }{ \sigma \tau \upsilon { \mu }^{ 6 } } \right] }.$$ We can also get a beta function from this using $$\lambda \left( \mu +d\mu \right) \approx \lambda \left( \mu \right) +a{ \lambda \left( \mu \right) }^{ 2 }\ln { \left[ \frac { { \left( \mu +d\mu \right) }^{ 6 } }{ { \mu }^{ 6 } } \right] },$$ $$\cdots$$ $$\mu \frac { d\lambda }{ d\mu }=\beta \left( \lambda \right) \approx6a{ { \lambda }^{ 2 } }$$ (I believe the constant ##a## can be found to be ##\frac { 1 }{ 32{ \pi }^{ 2 } }#