Can Experiments Disprove the Many-Worlds Theory?

In summary: There is a device called a Maxwell's demon that is used in theoretical physics to explain how two systems that are in a superposition of states can interact with each other. It is not something that has been tested in the real world, but it is something that is theoretically possible. It is possible because the demon can take a system that is in a superposition of states and make one of the outcomes happen.
TBSTG
Hi,

I’m a science teacher at a small, country high school in Australia.

A student has recently come to me for assistance in writing her major English project – a science fiction story – because she needs to add some realism to her descriptions.

The basis of the story is a scientist who is trying to disprove the ‘many-worlds theory’ – I think the inspiration comes from the movie ‘Bounce’.

I’ve been able to answer most of her questions, but some still puzzle me. Namely :

*What experiment / finding would disprove the ‘many-worlds’ theory?

*Is there any such research going on at the moment? &,

*Which universities/institutions would most likely be researching in this area?

There are a few more but these three are the main ones she is concerned with.

I’ve started reading through these sites, but this area really isn’t my specialty so I’m finding it a little confusing:
http://kuoi.asui.uidaho.edu/~kamikaze/documents/many-worlds-faq.html
http://www.innerx.net/personal/tsmith/ManyWorlds.html
http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?articleID=000F1EDD-B48A-1E90-8EA5809EC5880000&pageNumber=1&catID=2

Any help that you could give will be most appreciated

PS – If this has been posted in the wrong forum – please let me know which is the most appropriate one

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org