(R/I)-Modules .... Dummit and Foote Example (5), Section 10.1 ....

In summary: M$.I wonder why some characters are printed in red.The backslash in $R\I$ is interpreted by TeX as introducing a command name. Since no command with the name \I has been defined, it gets printed in red as a warning that you have used an undefined command. You presumably meant to use a forward slash, which TeX would have happily printed as $R/I$.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Dummit and Foote's book: "Abstract Algebra" (Third Edition) ...

I am currently studying Chapter 10: Introduction to Module Theory ... ...

I need some help with an aspect of Example (5) of Section 10.1 Basic Definitions and Examples ... ... Example (5) reads as follows:

View attachment 7999
View attachment 8000

I do not fully understand this example and hence need someone to demonstrate (explicitly and completely) why it is necessary for \(\displaystyle am = 0\) for all \(\displaystyle a \in I\) and all \(\displaystyle m \in M\) for us to be able to make \(\displaystyle M\) into an \(\displaystyle (R/I)\)-module. ...
Help will be much appreciated ..

Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
You can prove that $M$ is a (left) $R/I$ module by proving that the map $R/I \times M \longrightarrow M$ satisfies (1) and (2) of the definition on page 337, applied to $R/I$.
But, the most important thing you have to do is to prove that this map is well-defined, i.e., that the multiplication $(r+I)m=rm$ is well-defined.

steenis said:
You can prove that $M$ is a (left) $R/I$ module by proving that the map $R/I \times M \longrightarrow M$ satisfies (1) and (2) of the definition on page 337, applied to $R/I$.
But, the most important thing you have to do is to prove that this map is well-defined, i.e., that the multiplication $(r+I)m=rm$ is well-defined.
Thanks steenis ... appreciate your help ...

You write: