R&D work without PhD-is it possible?

• Thread starter Searcher83
  • Start date
  • Tags
    R&d Work
In summary, a person with an engineering degree in Instrumentation&Controls, experience in field jobs in the oil&gas industry, and a strong interest in R&D work is seeking advice on how to break into the R&D field without a Ph.D. While it is possible to find R&D positions without a Ph.D., many vacancies do require one or relevant experience. Networking and publishing research work may increase chances of being hired in R&D. Additionally, starting in engineering design and moving into R&D after gaining experience is another possible career path.
Searcher83
Hi everybody,

I have an engineering degree in Instrumentation&Controls and I worked on engineering positions in my country(Eastern Europe) in oil&gas industry for several years.Those were mainly field(on site) jobs but I'm interested in R&D work.I've had enough of maintenance and fixing,now I want to create and develop electronic,measuring and controls equipment by myself.I constantly develop myself in electronics,programming,physics,maths,mechanics and some other disciplines making devices and experiments,reading special books and journals.The thing is that there are no any relevant interesting R&D positions in my country.