The right degree for R&D in Biomedical Engineering

In summary, the speaker graduated with a degree in Applied Physics and minors in biomedical engineering and mathematics. They were recently accepted to a Masters of Engineering in biomedical engineering and are considering moving into an M.S. program or a Ph.D. They have a strong interest in research and development in industry or public sector research labs. However, they have found that job opportunities in their field are limited, with most positions being in process engineering, quality assurance, or field support. They are unsure which degree, between M.E., M.S., or Ph.D., would open up the most job opportunities for research and design in medical imaging and devices. The speaker is advised to consider the time investment and potential for future opportunities in their decision.
joshthekid
I graduated last spring with a degree in Applied Physics and minors in biomedical engineering and mathematics. I recently was accepted to the Masters of Engineering in biomedical engineering at Colorado State University but am looking eventually to move into the M.S. program or possibly even a Ph.d. I love research and have been doing some sort or another since I was a freshman and would like to do research and development in industry or possibly work in a public sector research lab. I don't really want to go into academia, and even if I did the jobs are very competitive. I have been on the job market for the past year with no avail, not a lot of people looking for physics BS, but even my engineering friends (BS) who have gotten jobs are almost entirely in process engineering, quality assurance, or field support not R and D. My question is between and M.E., M.S. or Ph.D. what degree is best, and will open the most job opportunities for research and design particularly in medical imaging and medical devices.

Thanks \

Physics news on Phys.org
I think that's too broad of a question to get a real valid answer for.