Questions about Communication Protocols

In summary, a connector is the physical connection between two devices, and a cable is the physical transmission medium between two connectors. Different connectors and cables are required for different types of networks. For example, RS232 is used with serial ports and RS485 is used with power circuits, so you need to choose the right connector and cable for the network.
F.ono
I work as a project engineer of electrical equipment for substations.
More and more I have to deal with the communication of these equipment with PLC and other equipments. But I really don't know much about this area.
For example, we have Modbus, Profibus, IEC-61850... every now and then I have to verify if we have the components required to connect some equipment to some network.
So the following questions arise:
- What type of connector do I need? When do I use RS232, RS485, DB9, etc?
- What type of cable do I need? When do I use fiber optic, twisted pair or whatever?

I have searched and read parts of books about it, but they don't really get straight to the point.
I would really appreaciate if someone could give me an introduction about it.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Your answers depend on the bandwidth and environmental requirements, and more important on the historical accidents of convention. RS232 for example, has been implemented with dozens of connector and cable combinations.

An "accident" might be that a manufacturer chose to use DB9 connectors. You have to accommodate that even if he had no good reason for choosing DB9 over alternatives.

I'm afraid that my answer amounts to no answer of your question.

F.ono said:
I work as a project engineer of electrical equipment for substations.
More and more I have to deal with the communication of these equipment with PLC and other equipments. But I really don't know much about this area.