Question about curvature of space

In summary, the curvature of space around the Earth is very small due to its small mass, and measuring the curvature of spacetime around an object is possible by looking for effects such as gravitational lensing.
op684
I'm new to physics but very curious about it. I'm 18, and probably will also include physics as my second major in college. A topic that has always bothered me is the curvature of space. If space is curved, due to the planets and stars, then why don't the rays of the sun curve around the Earth and pass it, instead of penetrating the atmosphere as they do? That's just one question I have regarding curvature of space. I'll post more very soon.

Edit: if it's due to the small size of the Earth, then with a much bigger object such as Jupiter, the rays would be deflected? Also, is there any way to measure the curvature of space around an object? Thanks.

Last edited:
Astronomy news on Phys.org
op684 said:
I'm new to physics but very curious about it. I'm 18, and probably will also include physics as my second major in college. A topic that has always bothered me is the curvature of space. If space is curved, due to the planets and stars, then why don't the rays of the sun curve around the Earth and pass it, instead of penetrating the atmosphere as they do? That's just one question I have regarding curvature of space. I'll post more very soon.

Edit: if it's due to the small size of the Earth, then with a much bigger object such as Jupiter, the rays would be deflected? Also, is there any way to measure the curvature of space around an object? Thanks.

The curvature of spacetime is used to model gravity and gravity is an attractive force, so rather than light curving away from the Earth it should curve towards it. This is indeed what GR predicts, but the effect is very small due to the relatively small mass/desnity of the Earth.