Quadratic Interpolation question

In summary, to determine a quadratic polynomial p(x), given the conditions of p(1)=f(1), p'(1)=f'(1), and p''(1)=f''(1), where f(x)=xex-1, the coefficients of p(x) can be found using the Gauss or Gauss-Jordan method. The x values are known and the coefficients are found through matrix operations. The column order of the 'a' and 'b' coefficients may change, but the matrix formula remains the same. With the derivatives involved, the equations are set to the corresponding 'y' values and solved to find the coefficients for 'a', 'b', and 'c'. The first equation is 1=a+b+c
doggitz
I have to find a system of linear equations to determine a quadratic polynomial

p(x) = ax2+bx+c

Given the conditions:

p(1) = f(1)
p'(1) = f'(1)
p''(1) = f''(1)

where f(x) = xex-1

I know:

p(x) = ax2+bx+c
p'(x) = 2ax +b
p''(x) = 2x

f(x) = xex-1
f'(x) = ex-1 + xex-1
f''(x) = 2ex-1 + xex-1

I am just learning Linear Algebra, and I am in the early Chapters of my book, so I can only use the Gauss method or the Gauss-Jordan method for this matrix. Just to clarify, I am hoping to return to school, so I am trying to learn this on my own.

I understand that the x values are known and I am finding the coefficients values in the matrix operations, but I am a little confused about the column order of the 'a' and 'b' coefficients.

If

Code:
A = | x[SUP]2[/SUP]  x  1  | 
    | x[SUP]2[/SUP]  x  1  | 
    | x[SUP]2[/SUP]  x  1  |

is my matrix "formula" how do I account for the 'a' coefficient "changing order" to the lower order coefficient of x, and what does my matrix look like to solve this problem?

Without the derivatives I am not confused, I would substitute for the 'x' values and set each equation to the corresponding 'y' value and solve the matrix to get the values of the coefficients for 'a' 'b' and 'c'. With the derivative involved I am in need of help.

Physics news on Phys.org