Pursuing a PhD in Computer Science

In summary: It's not just universities that are looking for PhDs. Google, Microsoft, and other large companies often hire PhDs. However, it is not necessary to have a PhD from a top university to be successful in the industry. It is important to have experience in the industry, but grades and other factors are also considered. If you are interested in pursuing a PhD, make sure you have experience in the industry and good grades.
yoran
Hi,

I'm currently doing a BsC in Computer Science in Leuven (Belgium). I'm in my second year and although I know I still have some few years to go, I already started wondering about whether or not to pursue a PhD in Computer Science after I get my Master's degree. I have pretty good marks and I'm really interested in the field. I'm not the kind of guy that only studies to get a degree. So my feeling goes to pursuing a PhD.
However, the problem is that I have heard pretty negative stuff about PhD's after they graduate. I really don't want to be a researcher at a university. I do want to get a job in the industrial sector. But I've heard that employers think that PhD's are over-qualified and that they don't have enough working experience. They know a lot about not much (that is, they are specialized in a very narrow field). My question to you is, is that really true? Of course, I know that companies such as Google, Microsoft and consorts hire PhD's, but what are the odds that you get hired by such a company? Is it necessary that you are a PhD from say universities like Stanford, MIT, Harvard,...?
This is why I'm hesitating between a PhD, which further specializes me, or enlarging my fields by doing a MBA for example. What would be the most attractive for a future job in the industry, knowing that I'd rather prefer doing a PhD? Of course, many people would say to do what you prefer to do, but I'm being realistic and I do want to get a nice job after so many years of study!