Pursuing a Minor in Physics as a Mechanical Engineering Student: Is it Worth It?

In summary, the conversation revolved around a student's dilemma of whether to pursue a minor in physics while studying mechanical engineering. The student's ultimate goal was to pursue a Master's in Nuclear Engineering and work in the nuclear power industry or for big private companies. The conversation suggested that a minor in physics could be beneficial in terms of standing out in a competitive field and that good grades and a physics minor could be a winning combination for graduate school applications. However, the student's main concern was balancing the workload and maintaining a high GPA. It was also mentioned that a minor in physics could be helpful for students interested in fields that lie on the boundary between physics and engineering.
JA14
Hello, I'm currently a freshman planning to pursue Mechanical Engineering with the intent of getting a Master's in Nuclear Engineering. I am attempting to decide whether or not to pursue a minor in physics because I deeply enjoy physics. However, my degree by itself is challenging and I want to try and keep my GPA high with the intent on going to grad school. Is it worth it to get the minor in physics and possibly harm my GPA or should I focus on my engineering coursework and have a better chance of keeping my GPA up?

Physics news on Phys.org
If your plan is a Master's in Nuclear Engineering, I would double major in physics and general engineering. If you're having trouble with mechanical engineering so far I'd consider switching to maybe just a major in physics, as mechanical engineering is not really relevant to nuclear engineering, apart from the general engineering stuff. It seems to me though that if you're pursing mechanical engineering you have a different motive/reason for doing so, could you maybe elaborate on your situation and long term plan a bit?