Puncturing blood vessels - elasticity?

In summary, the following factors are important in determining successful puncture of a blood vessel: force, incident angle, needle size, and intravascular pressure.
kidaz
TL;DR Summary
I'm a doctor. How can we predict which needle punctures a vessel?
Hi all! :)

I'm a physician who regularly punctures blood vessels with needles. This is successful when the needle punctures the superficial surface to enter the lumen, but does not puncture the deep surface. If this happens, nearby structures (lung, nerves, heart) are damaged. Increasing force will guarantee a puncture, but not a successful puncture by this definition.

We can modify only a few things: Force, incident angle, needle size, intravascular pressure (via hydrating the patient).
We cannot modify vessel elasticity, vessel diameter (only slightly varies with hydration)

I want to understand in what proportions these modifiable factors make this successful, and what physical laws govern this.

Can anyone help?

Biology news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

Needle entry into the lumen of a vessel will be different to the penetration of an arrow, lance, or an injection deep into muscle.
As I see it, initial penetration will be by the curved knife edge at the diagonal cut point of the needle. The following diagonal wedge will deflect the tissue and so control the presentation of tissue to the needle. When penetrating a vessel parallel with the surface, the orientation of the diagonal will be important in the way the needle pushes the tissue into a mound, then picks up the first vessel surface, and hopefully “threads” itself into the vessel without passing through the far wall, a bit like threading beads, without stitching them to the table cloth.

Start by getting a copy of; “The Science and Engineering of Cutting” 2009, by Tony Atkins;
pub; Elsevier, ISBN; 978-0-7506-8531-3
I quote from page 184,5;