Projectile motion in matlab help

In summary, the conversation discusses a need for a MATLAB program that will calculate ball movement and plot the results using user input from a GUI. The program will use given equations and the user will need to enter the height of the launcher, initial launch speed, and launch angle. A code is provided to set up the GUI and take user input, but the user will need to write their own code to calculate the ball movement and plot the result.
caseyk
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to MATLAB and I've been messing around this for a couple hours now and I could use some help.

I need to "Write a MATLAB program that calls at least one user defined function to calculate the ball movement and plot the result in 0.01 second increment before the ball drops to the floor. Use GUI to take the following user input: the height of the launcher (in), initial launch speed (ft/sec), and launch angle from horizon (degree). "

There are a bunch of given equations I can use
"vx = vx0 + ax t x = x0 + vx0t + ½ ax t2 vx2 = vx02 + 2 ax (x – x0)
vy = vy0 + ay t y = y0 + vy0t + ½ ay t2 vy2 = vy02 + 2 ay (y – y0)
For projectile motion, ax = 0, ay = -g, gravity g = 32.2 ft/sec2"

What I need help with is creating the m file that can calculate the motion if the givens are entered into a gui. thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org