Progression to prepare for analysis

In summary, the individual is an adult student who has recently purchased two calculus books, Apostol's and Spivak's, in preparation for an upcoming mathematics program at a university. However, they are finding the exercises in these books to be difficult and are looking for additional resources to help them better understand the material. Some recommendations are given, such as building intuition and understanding the concepts before tackling proofs, as well as actively reading and practicing problem-solving techniques. Additionally, it is suggested to take a class or find a book specifically focused on teaching how to prove things.
system1834
I am currently an adult student about to start a mathematics program at a university. I want to start preparing myself for analysis as soon as possible because I have a feeling it is going to be very difficult. So, I recently purchased Apostol's calculus book as well as Spivak's since I heard these are good books to get someone used to doing proofs. However, they seem to be a bit over my head. I am able to understand many of the concepts they are explaining, but when I get to the problems at the end of a unit, I don't have any idea where to start. Are there any books that would help get me to the level where I would be able to complete these two books?

Physics news on Phys.org
system1834 said: