Programing language for quantum mechanics, optics or plasma.

In summary, Python is a good option for computational physics, largely because it is a fast, easy to use language that is cross-platform. However, you should also know C or Fortran, as they are the languages used to do number crunching.
Immersion
Hi, I'm student of physics, i want to specialize in the areas of optics, quantum mechanics or plasma, but i want give an approach computational physics, therefore, my question is, which programing language is advisable for these areas of physics?. The options that most i read were fortran, C, C++, phyton; also, specialized software in numeric calculus such as matlab, mathematica, maple, etc.

Thank you for your answers, i want choose the better option.

P.S: I have basic knowledge about C.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would say that it really depends on the specific application. For a quick analysis or simulation where you want to be able to play around and quickly change parameters of a system, esp. one that requires generating some sort of visualization (plots etc.), it's definitely handy to know MATLAB, or Mathematica, or Maple, with different people advocating each one, according to personal preference. If I recall correctly, Maple (and I think Mathematica?) can do symbolic algebra, whereas MATLAB cannot? (But there may be some sort of MATLAB add-on module for that). On the other hand, I think that python is starting to supplant these three as a quick and versatile higher-level language that is equally powerful in terms of available visualization tools, and has the advantage of being cross-platform, open-source, and free of charge.