Problems of pursuing multiple paths

• Other
  • Thread starter TheCanadian
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Multiple
In summary, the main issue facing the poster is whether or not to apply to vet school again after graduating from a physics degree. If they get accepted into vet school, they would have to wait up to 5 years before reapplying. If they pursue a grad degree in physics, they would have to wait up to 4 years before reapplying.
TheCanadian
Hi,

I'm in my 3rd year of a 4-year Physics degree and trying to decide what exactly I want to do in the future and where I want to apply next year. I've been able to have a couple great research opportunities already, and plan on doing a thesis and summer research position before graduating to really decide if graduate school is something I still want to pursue. At this point in time, I'm fairly confident it is something I do want to pursue, and it really seems like a matter of deciding which area in physics I'd like to specialize in. After my stints so far, I'm leaning more towards Astronomy, but things could very well change.

The one thing is that I am also very interested in veterinary medicine. I have a bit of experience in the field and am working part-time at a vet clinic. I would love to apply to vet school next year, too.

This is where my dilemma arises: where should I apply? The following is all in a best case scenario: