Prepare for Physics Olympiads with Advanced Texts - Expert Advice

In summary, the best books for preparing for physics olympiads are Fundamentals of Physics by David Halliday, Robert Resnick, and Jearl Walker for learning theory and Irodov's Problems in General Physics for practicing challenging questions.
physicsnoob93
Hey everyone,

I would like to know if there are any physics texts out there which prepare people for olympiads? I googled but i didn't find much. I won't say excellent, but I'm a good physics student with an A average in class and I'm studying way ahead of my class. I am learning calculus and waiting to take the AP BC next year. I am also planning to study calculus 3. So the math part shouldn't be a problem. But i can't find a text?!

Thanks for your help

Physics news on Phys.org
physicsnoob93 said:
Hey everyone,

I would like to know if there are any physics texts out there which prepare people for olympiads? I googled but i didn't find much. I won't say excellent, but I'm a good physics student with an A average in class and I'm studying way ahead of my class. I am learning calculus and waiting to take the AP BC next year. I am also planning to study calculus 3. So the math part shouldn't be a problem. But i can't find a text?!

Thanks for your help

Really any university physics textbook would do to learn more advanced physics for the olympiads. I would personally recommend Fundamentals of Physics by David Halliday, Robert Resnick, and Jearl Walker; this book is excellent!

Now, that book was more for learning theory, the other best book you can get for the olympiads is Irodov's Problems in General Physics. This book has magnificent questions and i can assure you if you persevere in answering every question that you would be able to conquer the physics olympiads.

!