Plan to take 'engineering physics' next semester, how much Calculus will I need?

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is new to Physics Forums and is planning to enroll in an "Engineering Physics" course next semester, which is a calculus-based introduction to physics. They are wondering if they will be able to grasp the class with only one semester of Calculus completed, and are interested in the relationship between math and physics. The response is that as long as they understand basic concepts of derivatives and integrals from Calculus I, they should be fine. The student is currently focusing on understanding Calculus and is excited to start the physics class next semester.
mindheavy
New to Physics Forums, been browsing a while!

I'm a student trying to get into a Mechanical Engineering program, currently in Calculus I. I plan next semester to enroll in 'Engineering Physics' which, as far as I have heard, is general physics taught with Calculus instead of relying solely on Algebra/Trig. Two classes are offered, Engineering Physics I and II.

Any thoughts on this? Will I be able to grasp the whole of the class having only completed Calculus I and taking Calculus II concurrently?

Physics really peaks my interest and all this is to say, I just don't want to take the class too early, struggle some, and miss out on something having not had enough background in the language of the math involved. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
"Calculus-based" intro physics courses usually use calculus mainly to simplify certain concepts and derivations, and not much in exercises and homework. If you understand the basic concepts of derivatives and integrals from Calculus I, you'll be OK.

Thanks, I'm doing the best I know how to right now, still early in the Calculus semester. Reading from multiple books on the subject, trying to really get a good understanding of the concepts.