Places to study Physics Beyond The Standard Model.

In summary, the individual is a MSc student looking for suggestions on where to apply for a PhD in Physics Beyond the Standard Model (Theoretical side), besides the traditional elite places like MIT, Stanford, and Berkeley. They are interested in alternative suggestions due to high demand for those institutions. They are advised to look at authors' affiliations in recent papers and explore the research programs at those institutions' websites.
Casco
I am a MSc student and I am looking for a place to do my PhD in Physics Beyond the Standard Model (Theoretical side). Any suggestions for a place to apply?. I know that there are the traditional elite places like MIT, Standford, Berkeley and so on but I am looking for other suggestions given that there is a lot of demand to get into those places. Any ideas?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Casco said:
I am a MSc student and I am looking for a place to do my PhD in Physics Beyond the Standard Model (Theoretical side). Any suggestions for a place to apply?. I know that there are the traditional elite places like MIT, Standford, Berkeley and so on but I am looking for other suggestions given that there is a lot of demand to get into those places. Any ideas?

Thank you.

Assuming that you are aware of this area of study, then you must have read a few papers in various journals on it (or else, how would you know what this area of physics really is?). Have you looked at the affiliations of those authors? There's a very good chance, especially if these are recent (last 3 years) papers that the institutions where the various authors are affiliated have programs in that areas. Then it is just a matter of going to those institutions' websites and look around to verify that they have active research in the subject areas that you want.

Zz.

Related to Places to study Physics Beyond The Standard Model.

1. What is the Standard Model in physics?