Physics Masters Application - coming from a different field

In summary, the individual has a biology major and physics minor, and has recently completed a M.Ed. They are now looking to apply to physics masters/bridge programs and are seeking advice on the application process, specifically on the resume/cv and personal statement. They are also interested in hearing about others' experiences with switching fields. The individual may have an advantage in leveraging their biology background for programs with a focus on bio-physics. They are advised to consider working at a school with a research program in bio-physics that utilizes beamlines at a synchrotron light source, as this can provide valuable skills and make them more employable. Including this interest in their application can also demonstrate their research on specific programs at a school.
Jen Beckley
I graduated a few years ago with a Biology Major and Physics Minor. After completing a M.Ed. I have decided to apply to physics masters/bridge programs and have been discussing it with old advisers who were very encouraging. I was hoping someone else had switched fields and could give me some advise on the application process, especially the resume/cv and/or personal statement piece of the application. I would love to hear someone else's experience.

Physics news on Phys.org
Jen Beckley said:
I graduated a few years ago with a Biology Major and Physics Minor. After completing a M.Ed. I have decided to apply to physics masters/bridge programs and have been discussing it with old advisers who were very encouraging. I was hoping someone else had switched fields and could give me some advise on the application process, especially the resume/cv and/or personal statement piece of the application. I would love to hear someone else's experience.

You are not really that far off-field with a physics minor.