Physics Extended Essay Suggestions

In summary, the speaker is a high school student who needs to write an extended essay for their IB program in physics. They are seeking suggestions for a viable question that can be researched with local equipment and pertains to the course outline. They are also expected to perform an experiment on their topic and have a background in AP Calculus BC/IB Math HL. They will credit the forums in their final bibliography.
Revolution
I am a high school student who is extremely passionate about physics. As part of the IB program, I need to pick a question and write an extended essay by next September using about 40 hours to write approximately 4,000 words. I chose physics for my subject area, and would appreciate some suggestions for a viable question that I could research and write about given these restraints. The question should be something that I can research with local equipment and needs to pertain to something in the course outline. The course outline is at this link: http://www.haef.gr/gr/pcl/ib/physics.pdf , starting on page 43.

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Are you going to give us credit for any help that you receive here?

When you say, "research with local equipment", are you supposed to perform an experiment? Also, what's your mathematical background?

@jtbell - I don't have any experience with citing forums, but I'll make sure to credit these forums in the final bibliography.

@bossman27 - Yes, for the scientific subject areas (chemistry, biology, physics) each student is supposed to perform an experiment on their topic. Local equipment just means whatever I can access directly - preferably household or high school level equipment. I am currently taking AP Calculus BC/IB Math HL.

I think what jtbell was getting at is that, according to what you posted, you need to pick the question.

Related to Physics Extended Essay Suggestions

1. What is the purpose of a Physics Extended Essay?