Physics Degree without A2 maths?

In summary, if you only study AS Core maths, you will still be considered for a place at university, but you won't be able to study physics without doing a foundation year.
jack.cottrell
Hi All

Background info first: I`m currently in Year 14, studying A2 Physics and A2 Chemistry. I am also studying a full A2 course (AS and A2 Simultaneously) in one year. I have an A2 in applied mathematics at Grade A, which includes Calculus, Hypothesis testing, Data Analysis and Algebraic manipulation. I am applying to study an Undergraduate Degree in Physics.

I am currently struggling to stay on top of the work flow from the 4 subjects, and am worried that by studying the full A2 maths, I may not achieve the grades in the other two subjects. If I were to study only AS Core mathematics, would I still be considered for a place at a university, seeing as the applied mathematics covers a large amount of the same material?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
jack.cottrell said:
Hi All

Background info first: I`m currently in Year 14, studying A2 Physics and A2 Chemistry. I am also studying a full A2 course (AS and A2 Simultaneously) in one year. I have an A2 in applied mathematics at Grade A, which includes Calculus, Hypothesis testing, Data Analysis and Algebraic manipulation. I am applying to study an Undergraduate Degree in Physics.

I am currently struggling to stay on top of the work flow from the 4 subjects, and am worried that by studying the full A2 maths, I may not achieve the grades in the other two subjects. If I were to study only AS Core mathematics, would I still be considered for a place at a university, seeing as the applied mathematics covers a large amount of the same material?

I did not do A2 maths and in order to study physics at university I have to do a foundation year offered by my university.

It is highly unlikely that you will be accepted onto a university physics course without A-level maths or an equivalent.