Physical eigenstates of systems of n particles of spins sᵢ?

In summary, In systems of spin, it is important to symmetrise or antisymmetrise wave functions depending on whether you are dealing with bosons or fermions. This places restrictions on the spins that the particles can have. It is also possible that the particles contain both bosons and fermions, and in that case the summarizer is even more clueless.
tomdodd4598
I am relatively well versed when it comes to systems of spin, or doing the maths for them at least, but am unsure whether all of the {L2, Lz, (other required quantum numbers)} basis eigenstates for a general system of n particles of spins si, where si is the spin of the ith particle, can actually exist in nature. I am new to the concept and therefore don't know the full ins and outs of requiring to symmetrise or antisymmetrise wave functions depending on whether you're dealing with bosons or fermions, and I can only imagine this places restrictions on the spins the particles can have. It's also possible the n particles may contain both bosons and fermions, and in that case I'm even more clueless. I also understand whether the particles are distinguishable or not plays a major role, and whether, for example, this is assumed or not in the example below.

For example, suppose I had three particles, two of spin 1/2 and one of spin 1. The eigenstates of L2, and Lz, |s,m>, are |2,2>, |2,1>, |2,0>, |2,-1>, |2,-2>, |1,1>1, |1,0>1, |1,-1>1, |1,1>2, |1,0>2 and |1,-1>2 (an additional quantum number is needed to distinguish between the |1,m> states).
Of these, which ones could actually exist, or could some groups of them be realized in different scenarios?

Physics news on Phys.org
If particles have different spins, then they are definitely not identical, and you can treat them independently.

In the case of the two spin-1/2, you get the "classic" singlet + triplet states. The singlet state combines with all three possible states for the spin-1 particle, giving