PhD in Cosmology: Best UK Universities

In summary, the conversation is about suggesting good universities in the UK for studying cosmology at a PhD level. The person asking is a UK student with a first class MPhys in Physics with Astrophysics and is now studying for a MSc by research. Some universities mentioned are Imperial, Cambridge, Portsmouth, Sussex, Oxford, Nottingham, Durham, Lancaster, Kings, Cardiff, UCL, Queen Mary U of. London, Manchester, and Edinburgh. The conversation also touches on different research areas in cosmology.
kop442000
Could anyone suggest good universities in the UK for studying cosmology at a PhD level?

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
What's your background? That will help with compiling a suitable list - e.g. Cambridge won't accept you without part iii, Imperial are likely to not accept you without a Master's, lots of other places only accept people with a four year undergrad degree, etc..

I'm a UK student. I have a first class MPhys in Physics with Astrophysics, and am now studying for a MSc by research - so just in the middle of applying for a PhD position.

Thank you.

Ok, so you sound like a good quality candidate; well here's a partial list

Imperial, Cambridge, Portsmouth, Sussex, Oxford, {Nottingham, Durham, Lancaster, Kings (these are more particle physics orientated, though Durham have a growing computational centre)}, Cardiff (more CMB orientated), UCL, Queen Mary U of. London, Manchester (smallish group, focuses mainly on cosmic strings and defects).

I've likely missed somewhere out...

Do you have any idea what you'd like to do, maybe something related to your MSc project? Feel free to PM me if you don't want to give away too much info on the public forum.

It is my understanding that Newcastle do a little bit of computationally oriented cosmology & gravitational research, but do tell me to be quiet if that isn't true.

I was at an open day at Imperial last week, very impressive ;)