Ph.D Physics (UK) with a potentially bad reference

In summary, the speaker completed an MSci degree in Physics with Theoretical Physics from the University of Nottingham with an average of 67%. They had high grades in 2nd year (78%) but experienced a dip in 3rd and 4th year due to a lack of motivation caused by a loss of friends. They are now considering pursuing a Ph.D in 2015 and believe they can achieve a high 2:1 or possibly a first. However, there are concerns about obtaining a reference from their 4th year project supervisor, with whom they had a difficult relationship due to missing meetings and a perceived lack of interest. The speaker plans to speak with their supervisor and may consider obtaining a reference from their 3
Thomas1991
Hey guys, I finished my MSci degree (Physics with Theoretical Physics from the University of Nottingham) back in June achieving an average of 67% over the entire 4 years. My grades in 2nd year were extremely high (78%) and my grades dipped in 3rd and 4th year (though I did get some nice grades like a 95% in the 3rd year Quantum Dynamics module). My grades dipped due to a severe lack in motivation which I attribute to a loss of friends during this time. I basically had no one to hang around with as they all graduated before me and I made no attempt to immerse myself in other social groups. I feel like I fell into a depression, nothing too severe, but enough for me to just want my degree to be over with.