PDE Charactersitic equations colliding and shocks concepts

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of shocks in relation to characteristic equations and initial conditions. A shock occurs when two sets of characteristics collide and the collision point acts as the initial condition for the shock curve. For the given initial data, all curves meet at (1,1) and the set of characteristics between 0<s<1 converge to (1,1) and then diverge from it. The conversation also addresses the difficulty in determining the change to the right of the shock curve due to the different sets of characteristics.
binbagsss

I'm new to shocks and trying to get the hang of it.
I have 3 sets of characteristic equations,( by a set I mean defined by taking a different fixed value u along the characteristic.)

From what I understand,in general talk, we use a shock whenever two sets of characteristics collide as otherwise u=u(x,t) would be multi-valued:

*The shock - x(t)- begins at the first collision , and the collision point acts as the initial condition for the shock curve. The shock curve remains given by the same equation until there is a change in characteristic equation to the right of the shock curve. When this occurs the new shock curve is computed subject to the u+- limits at this point where the change occurs, and this point now acting as the initial condition...

Questions:

For Burgers equation subject to u(x,0) = 1 for x<0, 1-x for 0<x<1, 0 for x>1.

1) For this initial data, all curves meet at (1,1). Which set of the characteristic equations do we then treat as colliding - in attaining u+ and u-( Am I correct in thinking that u+ has to be given by u=0. but for u- don't we have a choice between u=1 and u=1-x ?)

2) The set of characteristics between 0<s<1 converge to (1,1) and then diverge from it. Am I correct in thinking that nothing needs to be dealt with here? I.e- self-crossing characteristics is not a issue because there is no problem with u being multi-valued.