PAC learning, Theoretical Comp. Sci and Mathematics

In summary: I would recommend reading "Data Science: A Statistical Perspective" by Hadley Wickham and "Machine Learning: A Probabilistic Perspective" by Michael Nielsen. These books are foundational and will help you understand the theoretical underpinnings of machine learning and big data.In summary, Dave is interested in complexity theory, big data, and machine learning. He recommends reading books on these topics in order to better understand the theoretical underpinnings.
dkotschessaa
Per another thread I've decided not to pursue a PhD in mathematics, but rather do a Masters with a Thesis option. So it's time to start finding an area and zooming in.

I am interested in complexity theory, and have been watching the whole "Big Data" scene with interest (and ignorance). I googled "Complexity and Big Data" and the result seems to be something called PAC learning.

I have some undergraduate background in Theory of Computation (including Automata and complexity) and a little bit of Combinatorics and Graph Theory. I have a career background in I.T. and some programming skills, and generally a good intuition and draw towards computer science, though I've never studied it formally, save from a purely mathematical perspective.

This coming semester I will be taking (graduate courses) Algebra II, Algebraic Automata Theory, and mathematical logic and foundations. (Which all nicely tie together)

I'm a bit away from a thesis but I don't want to wait to get started researching. I'd like it to be something mathematically satisfying, yet have some connection to something that is happening right now. Machine learning is a fascinating area that is very "now."