Ozone heating the lower stratosphere.

In summary, the conversation discusses a test question about ozone formation in the stratosphere and its impact on the lower atmosphere. The student argues that it is true because of heat transfer through conduction or convection, while the other person argues that air cannot transfer heat downwards. The student also brings up the concept of a cold band between the ground and the upper stratosphere and the role of a heat sink, such as precipitation, in preventing the heating of this band. Ultimately, the question remains about whether the student's theory is correct or if the other person's argument holds true.
faugaun
So, I'm a student working on a M.S. Environmental Science.

I just took a test, the course is Mechanisms in the Environment, and got a question marked wrong that I believe is a correct answer.

The question was, paraphrased, Can ozone formation in the mid to upper stratosphere heat up the lower atmosphere? true/false and explain your answer.

My answer was true, basically because heat transfers from a hot medium to cold medium due to excited particles bumping into one another and transferring energy to the lower energy (colder particles) in the form of heat. I guess in physics terminology I was arguing that conduction causes this, although after some background reading it could be more of a convection transfer.

Some basic information

-Ozone formation is Exothermic

-Temperature decreases as you travel from the ground towards the stratosphere once you enter the stratosphere temperature increases until you enter the mesosphere

-Ozone formation occurs predominantly in the mid to upper stratosphere

during our discussion he argued that air cannot transfer heat down (to a lower elevation) citing the example of heat in a house (near the ceiling is warmer than near the ground.