Overcoming Discouragement in Physics: Advice Needed

In summary: You could mention that you are shy, but I think it is best not to get into the whole business of other students behaving badly.In summary, the person is struggling with their shyness in a major physics program and is being laughed at and talked over by classmates. They are asking for advice on how to handle this situation and have received suggestions to ignore the classmates, stop answering questions, and talk to the professor. The person ultimately decides to focus on their own academic success and ends up doing well in their classes.
paalfis
This probably sounds a bit silly for some people, but the truth is that it is affecting me. The situation is this:
I am in what it the equivalent to a major physics degree program in my country ( I am also majoring in computational sciences). Lately, mostly because I found profoundly interesting what I am studying, have encourage my self to participate more in class, which has been difficult, because of being very, very shy.
Anyway, besides of being an excellent student (and by excellent I mean, excellent), some classmates of mine constantly laugh at my questions, or answer them their self (talking over the professor) in a condescending tone (wrongly, of course), like if they pity me for being so stupid. I know that my questions are not silly at all, but I do not have a strong personality to defend my point. Then, in order to show that I am not stupid, every time the professor asks something during his lecture, I answer rapidly and make silly mistakes, sinking even deeper.
I know that I am not stupid, and I show results (perfect average, 5 or 6 kind of good research projects going on) and also I am practically in love with physic. But this thing has been going on for a while and is now impacting me and my academic results in a bad way.
Do you have any suggestion of what I can do? Or a way to convince my self to ignore this?
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org