Overanalyzing Study Notes and Textbooks: Is it Beneficial or a Waste of Time?

• Thread starter spaghetti3451
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the conversation revolves around a student's difficulty with their studies and their tendency to question and restructure every sentence in their notes and assignments. They fear missing important details and strive for a complete understanding of the concepts. However, this approach is time-consuming and they are seeking advice on how to streamline their studying process. The suggested approach is to first understand the big picture and then focus on specific details as needed, while also setting goals for the assignment. It is also important to balance understanding with time management.
spaghetti3451
I am an undergrad and I have been facing a difficulty with my studies for quite some time.
The problem is that whenever I read my lecture notes or a textbook or a labscript, I tend to question every single sentence in every paragraph. Also, I spend a lot of time trying to restructure the notes (by rewriting them again) so that the arguments flow smoothly and so that all the assumptions have been taken into account. This becomes a laborious task. As an example, here is an extract from a computing labscript.