Origin and Development of Earth's Atmosphere

In summary, the topic of "air" for a school portfolio has sparked questions about the Earth's atmosphere and its history. It is believed that the Earth did not have an atmosphere when it first formed, but as it cooled, a gaseous atmosphere formed. This early atmosphere was mostly made up of gases like methane, ammonia, and water vapor. Later, primitive life forms like stomatolites started releasing oxygen into the atmosphere, leading to the development of more complex life forms. It is unclear if there were any carbon-dioxide breathing organisms, but oxygen-breathing organisms seemed to have been more successful. It is also possible that other gases emitted by living creatures could lead to the evolution of more advanced life forms. Further research can be
M.T.
Hello, I'm a newbie so please tell me if I'm doing anything wrong :)

I am working on a portfolio for school and I have chosen the topic "Air". As I was all set and ready to start, I realized that I didn't know the first thing about air. By now I know that what we call "air" is in fact the atmosphere surrounding the earth... and that's as far as wikipedia could help me. But the amount of my remaining questions scrapes infinity, so I would be very thankful if somebody could answer even some of them:
When has this athmosphere started to exist? Was there a time when the Earth existed without an atmosphere around it? Do these gases also exist somewhere outside Earth's atmosphere? If that's the case, could it be that those gases were "pulled down" to earth? Or is it that rather than being pulled down to it, the Earth "emitted" those gases? If so, does the Earth still emit gases (maybe even "new" gases)?
Has the atmosphere changed and is it going to change over the years? If yes, did organisms also change according to the atmosphere? Or did the atmosphere change according to the organisms?