Optical design of surgical loupes

In summary, Constantin wants to make a set of dental-surgical loupes with a fixed focus at 400-500mm, Field Of View of around 6" and a 2-3x zoom. He is looking for help choosing the optics and someone to help him with the design.
fylatos
First of all, I am new to this forum and I would like to thank you for accepting me here.

I am a dental student and I would like to make a set of dental-surgical loupes. The loupes are actually small Galilean telescopes-microscopes with a fixed focus at 400-500mm, Field Of View of around 6" and a 2-3x zoom. I want your help to find the optics needed for this project (preferably achromats, aspheric, but I will make several experiments if needed). I promise I will post all the progress here with photos. I understand that this is a forum for discussing classical phusics but it is the one of the only forum I know where people with optical design experience and deep knowledge of optics come together. I would like to use high quality optics like edmund, zeiss or something similar. I need someone to help me with the ray traycing and the desirable lens configuration. I am currently thinking about a tessar configuration. Your ideas? Please help me.

Thanks again,

Constantine

PS I already own a set but I want to experiment on making my own. I do this solely for experimental (and fun) reasons and not commercial.

Attachments

• lope.jpg
    lope.jpg
    4.9 KB · Views: 779
Science news on Phys.org
What little I know about eyepiece design suggests you are better off buying one. Eyepieces are very complicated devices because the exit pupil is located behind the physical lens- a well designed eyepiece puts the exit pupil at the entrance pupil to your eye. The space between (the 'relief') means the design is highly asymmetric and susceptible to a lot of aberrations.

http://www.surgicalacuity.com/index/surgicalacuity-products-surgical-loupes-buyers-guide-2
http://www.quadibloc.com/science/opt04.htm