Online MS in applied maths or physics

In summary, Steve is a PhD holder in Aerospace engineering with a background in mathematics, looking to improve his knowledge in maths and physics. He is considering an online master's degree and is open to either applied mathematics or physics. Steve's reasons for wanting a formal degree include networking and motivation, as well as gaining credibility in academia. He is currently considering Columbia University as the most credible option and is interested in space sciences and astrophysics in physics, and is open to various subjects in applied mathematics. Steve also has networking opportunities available to him, but prefers to pursue an online master's degree first.
steve0000
Hi all,
I am an engineer and I would like to take an online master in applied mathematics or physics - I am interested in several subjects in both field, so right now I am open to either choice.

To prevent common comments I saw in other post, let me point out I hold a PhD in Aerospace engineering, have several years of experience as researcher, and have a good background in maths. I was teaching assistant (in a top university) for several courses that were offered to Campus and online students, so I know that distance learning can work well, at least in engineering.

What I do not know, is which top universities offer online courses in maths or physics. I spent hours looking for options, but looks like most good universities only offer online courses in engineering schools, if any.

Only options I found so far are Columbia and Open University. Do you guys know more??

Thank you for your help!
Steve

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey steve0000 and welcome to the forums.

One question I have is why you want a degree at all if you already have a PhD? Do you want to get the degree and the title of having the degree for reasons other than personal ones? Do you need to have an official degree from somewhere else? Are you looking perhaps for a career change?