Old GPA Haunting Second Degree/Transfer

• Programs
  • Thread starter risingcodeninja
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gpa
In summary, the speaker has a first degree in sociology from 2000 and recently enrolled in a low-cost private college for a second degree in computer science. They are not happy at the current college and want to transfer, but their CGPA from their previous degree is too low for admission to better schools. They are looking for recommendations on schools that may put more weight on their current grades and also mention their preference for a medium-sized school with good academic reputation, located in a warm climate. They also mention having double URM status, being a veteran, and having a disability as potential "hooks" for admission. They plan on retaking courses or taking departmental exams to replace low grades in order to improve their GPA.
risingcodeninja
I got my first degree in sociology way back in 2000. Last year, I decided to pursue a second degree in computer science and enrolled at a tiny, private LAC that I chose solely based on low cost. I just completed my first year there and did well, earning a 3.6 GPA. However, I'm not happy at the college and want to transfer.

The issue I'm facing is that my CGPA from my prior undergraduate work is low. The better schools require a CGPA of 2.5 for transfer admission and I fall just short at 2.4 even after adding in my current grades (I keep a spreadsheet). Being that I'm looking into state schools (I'm a veteran, so I can pay in-state rates in several states), I won't have the opportunity to explain on applications that I have a serious autoimmune disease that was beginning to manifest way back when, and was not diagnosed until 2004 - four years after I graduated.