NUPOC versus Engineering Duty Officer

• Engineering
  • Thread starter reeder123456
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, the speaker is a Civil Engineering student with a 3.8 GPA who is considering joining the Navy through either the NUPOC or SWO (EDO) programs. They are passionate about Civil Engineering but are open to other options due to the current economy. They have spoken to recruiters about both programs and believe that being a Naval Officer would provide valuable skills and knowledge for their civilian career. They are also considering pursuing a masters degree in Civil Engineering after their military service. They are seeking advice on which program would be most beneficial for a career in Civil Engineering.
reeder123456
I'm currently a Civil Engineering student with a 3.8 GPA about to enter my senior year. I originally applied to CEC and am waiting to here back. Civil Engineering Corps is my first pick but I know in this crazy economy I can't be to picky so NUPOC and SWO (EDO) options came up from my recruiter that I both qualify for. I am pretty passionate about Civil Engineering but like I mentioned I can't be too selective. I really enjoy physics and I know there is great bonuses to the NUPOC program (my school is already payed for so I fortunately don't need to utilize that bonus). I've talked to recruiters about some of the details for both programs. In either case I know would gain very valuable knowledge and skills by being a Naval Officer that always translates to the civilian world. After Nuc program I'd be able to work in the Nuclear Power industry pretty easily although the intense school for Nuc isn't technically a masters degree it is looked at equivalently to one. In EDO I believe that transfers directly to in the civilian world as managing a shipyard and the plus is you get an accredited masters in something like Naval/mechanical engineering. My question to anyone that knows or is in either program...what option would be m