Numerical Integration of Chandrasekhar's Equation

In summary: Looks like it produces a density plot, but I need to vary zc to suit the WD mass.Also my mass isn't plotting anything.This was mostly python issues, and not issues with the physics itself.
vmr101
Gold Member

Homework Statement

We need to write an integrator for the Chandrasekhars Equation (CE) for White Dwarfs (WD) using python3/NumPy/Matplotlib. We then need to compute the structure of a WD made of our varying elements. We also need to compute and plot the mass-radius relation for WD.

Homework Equations

We are given equations for C1, C2, K, eta, alpha, Radius, Mass and density.
rho = C2*x3=C2*zc3(phi2-1/(zc2))3/2

The Attempt at a Solution

I have never used python3 before so this is a bit of a challenge.
My script sets up all the constants and variables, sets up the arrays.
#then uses the initial conditions and sets an array for the ce
#then sets the integrator as rk4
#then integrates the CE
#calculates rho, alpha, p, temp, r
M = ((4*pi)/c2**2)*(((2*c1)/(pi*G))**(3/2))*((-x**2)*y[:,0])
#Plot r vs rho, r vs temp etc..

I need to figure out where to vary zc to find a certain WD mass
Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
vmr101 said:

Homework Statement

We need to write an integrator for the Chandrasekhars Equation (CE) for White Dwarfs (WD) using python3/NumPy/Matplotlib. We then need to compute the structure of a WD made of our varying elements. We also need to compute and plot the mass-radius relation for WD.

Homework Equations

We are given equations for C1, C2, K, eta, alpha, Radius, Mass and density.
rho = C2*x3=C2*zc3(phi2-1/(zc2))3/2

The Attempt at a Solution

I have never used python3 before so this is a bit of a challenge.
My script sets up all the constants and variables, sets up the arrays.
ce1 = functools.partial(le.ce,zc=zc) #this uses the initial conditions and sets an array for the ce