Not the best at math, but love physics

In summary, it sounds like you're undecided about what to do with your life. You like astrophysics, but you're not very good at math, so you're considering whether or not to get a PhD in physics. You should definitely consider it, but you should also work on your math skills first.
ezarhadden
Okay so I'm at the point in my life where I'm deciding what I want to do. And the one thing I REALLY want to do is... Astrophysics, the problem is right now I'm not that good at math right now. I kinda like math though. I fooled around a lot in school so I never really payed attention for math and stuff, so what should I do? On my free time I look at astrophysics for fun and love it, its probably the only thing I want to do cause I love it. So what do you think I should do? Is getting a PHD in physics that hard? Should I go for it and fullfill my passion in astronomy? Or do something else.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well since you have more than one life to live, I say put it off to another one.

Though unless you don't subscribe to that theory, there's an alternative. Work on your math skills. Practice makes... good enough. And yes, a phd is any science is hard.

If you truly want to pursue astrophysics, then by all means go for it. You will definitely have to study up when it comes to math, though. I was in the same boat, and I was scared about all the math classes that are required. But if you really want to do astrophysics, the best thing to do is see math as just another challenge to overcome, as with anything that happens in life. Take the chance though, try out the math classes, and really put a lot of effort into it, see where it takes you.
If you really want to stay away from the math, that's no problem. You can always enjoy reading and looking up astronomy papers and articles as a hobby or something you enjoy doing.